Captain Future #4 Audiobook


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: 10-89771 Category:


The Triumph of Captain Future
by Edmond Hamilton
Read by Milton Bagby
Racing to the Ringed Planet in Answer to Earth’s Clarion Call, the Wizard of Science seeks a Forbidden Elixir of Life—and Finds the City of Eternal Youth!
The Captain Future stories were not only populated with magnificent characters, but they were also set in a wild, imaginative, almost psychedelic universe. Edmond Hamilton built worlds and star systems that in many ways completely disregarded what the public knew to be true about outer space, but they did not care. Nearly every planet in our solar system could support life and danger lurked there, too. Although the original stories took place amongst familiar planets, Hamilton would take readers far beyond anything familiar in later tales.
Published from 1940 to 1951, Captain Future stories initially take place in the far flung year of 1990. As the series progressed, Hamilton moved away from pinning the ongoing adventures to a particular time and focusing more on forming continuity, where stories built on one another. This allowed for a freedom of imagination, for Hamilton to tell stories without restrictions.
Although Captain Future was initially modeled on Doc Savage, hints and influences of other heroes make their way into the stories as well. For instance, the Planet Police summon Captain Future with a signal flare fired into the sky, similarly to Batman, the Phantom Detective, and others. Also, Captain Future has a female interest, although he never fully admits that she might be a romantic one. A member of the Space Patrol, Joan Randall proves in story after story that she can stand alongside the Futuremen. She also clearly has affection for Curt Newton, waiting for him to acknowledge his feelings for her that as so many Pulp heroines do.
Rocket into science fiction adventure and discover new worlds. Ripped from the pages of the Fall 1940 issue of Captain Future magazine, “The Triumph of Captain Future” is read with wonder and excitement by Milton Bagby.
Chapter 1: Elixir of Evil
Chapter 2: Coming of the Futuremen
Chapter 3: The Trap on Venus
Chapter 4: In the Machine City
Chapter 5: Grag Plays Dumb
Chapter 6: Trail of the Life-lord
Chapter 7: Murder on Saturn
Chapter 8: Secret Syndicate
Chapter 9: Horror in the Museum
Chapter 10: Amazing Impersonation
Chapter 11: In the Fungus Forest
Chapter 12: Weird Mystery
Chapter 13: Legendary Clue
Chapter 14: Into the Mistlands
Chapter 15: With the Winged Men
Chapter 16: City of Eternal Youth
Chapter 17: Battle at the Fountain
Chapter 18: Triumph of Captain Future

Additional information

Weight .6875 lbs
Dimensions 6 × 4 × .5 in