Secret Agent “X” Audiobook #7


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: 10-88274 Category:


Octopus of Crime
by Paul Chadwick writing as Brant House
Read by Milton Bagby
His true face unknown, his identity forever buried in a secret government file, Secret Agent “X” came back from the dead to take on the sinister sadists and evil extortionists who prey on innocent Americans. A master of disguise who carries a non-lethal gas gun, “X” the unknown is backed by a cabal of wealthy citizens and is answerable only to the shadowy K-9 in Washington.
Tentacles of terror reached over the country, spreading like a hideous blight through the cities of America. The Underworld, welded together under the secret symbol of a monster of crime, was organized as never before. And Secret Agent “X,” master man-hunter, went up against a genius of crime who stooped even to the ghastly horrors of medieval torture.
The enigma of enigmas, Secret Agent “X” has been deputized by a high government official to battle the darkest, most diabolical enemies of America before they sink their poisonous fangs into the nation’s healthy core. Faceless and unsung, “X” infiltrates these threats in a bewildering array of disguises.
Writer Paul Chadwick communicated the essence of the series with the horrific titles of his novels. Chadwick specialized in telling melodramatic mystery yarns saturated in an atmosphere of impending doom. The pulp editors called these menace stories. Eventually, these thrillers evolved into sub-genre known as weird menace. In Secret Agent “X”, a cloud of diabolical danger hangs over the heads of every innocent character until “X”, using his fists, his gas gun, or his loyal operatives, shatters the threat for all time.
No one knew who Secret Agent “X” really was. Not his readers. Not his editors. Not even his writer, conceivably. To this day in the 21st Century, his true identity is still a deep mystery. That’s keeping a secret!
Follow the Man of a Thousand Faces as he confronts the menace of Octopus of Crime, ripped from the pages of Secret Agent “X” magazine, September 1934 and read with chilling intensity by Milton Bagby.
Chapter 1: Guns in the Night
Chapter 2: The Law’s Net
Chapter 3: Plunging Peril
Chapter 4: Wings of Destruction
Chapter 5: The Mark of Horror
Chapter 6: Night Visitor
Chapter 7: Black Horrors
Chapter 8: Crimson Fangs
Chapter 9: A Fresh Clue
Chapter 10: The New Commissioner
Chapter 11: Trapped By Silence
Chapter 12: Death in the Night
Chapter 13: The Sky Attack
Chapter 14: The Crash!
Chapter 15: The Way of the Octopus
Chapter 16: Passwords to Hell
Chapter 17: Death to the Agent
Chapter 18: Thundering Doom
Chapter 19: Criminal Cunning
Chapter 20: The Mysterious Message
Chapter 21: Tentacles of the Octopus
Chapter 22: The Octopus Speaks Again
Chapter 23: Sky Monster
Chapter 24: Who is the Octopus?

Additional information

Weight .6875 lbs
Dimensions 6 × 4 × .5 in